Minikin's Journal

Routine Ramblings of an Occasionally Interesting Housewife

Rating position

Doodle Bug
25 September 1961

Trading Cards
Permanent Account Edition
User Number: 89481
Date Created:4/2/2001
Number of Posts: 2549

Minikin is a housewife, but few would label her mild-mannered. She recognizes the superhero qualities of being capable of either mild manners or keeping house. When there is time in her day, she sometimes sits down and writes occasionally entertaining tidbits of everyday life. More rarely, Minikin will describe significant life events.
Strengths: Readily cheered by commonplace beauty.
Weaknesses: Easily distracted by shiny objects.
Special Skills: Clutter creation and organization.
Weapons: Disarming smile, bright colors.
Center: Christ

Make your own LiveJournal Trading Card!
Brought to you by crossfire

"I'm from Texas."

I was raised in a Christian, Navy family. I prayed to Jesus to be my savior when I was only 2, then I was baptized when I was 6. I spent the early part of my life surrounded by church and learning about being a Christian. When I moved away from home and made choices independent of my parents' influence, I stopped attending services, and gradually I turned my back on Jesus entirely. Oh, I still believed, but there was nothing in my life that showed the fruit of the spirit; I believed, but I had no desire to follow.

In 2004, while I was going through a lot of stressful events, I began attending services at Quest Community Church in Lexington. Since then, I joined a Life Group, and learned deeper knowledge about being a Christian and about me. I learned that being a Christian isn't merely about what happens after death, but that a true relationship with Christ transforms ones life. On April 30, 2006, I prayed to ask Jesus to be Master of my life. I'd be happy to discuss this with anyone who is curious - my life took an interesting journey to the place where I needed this prayer. I am now learning what it means to listen to and live in God's will.

I was born in Key West, and lived with my parents in DC, TX, Iceland & CA before I got married. As my father was in the Navy, home was always really Texas, where my grandparents lived.

I am married. My husband and I have two sons, born in Lexington, in 1989 and 1994.

We met at Rice University in 1978, married in 1982, and lived in Houston until we moved to Nicholasville KY in 1987. I worked as a systems programmer until my oldest was born. Now I do data entry and scanning and output processing for a records imaging company. My older son graduated UK in 2013 with a BSME, and is now working at an engineering firm in Houston, TX. My younger son is currently attending UK in the CAFE program.

In 1991, my husband and I began to explore the poly lifestyle. I have been in many relationships since then. I have a partner who moved to Lexington to live closer to me; our bond and commitment is as strong as that between married partners; he and his wife are now part of our extended family. In my journey with Christ I am rediscovering God's plan for marriage and learning how reconcile my life choices with God's plan for me. Some of the sexual relationships I had outside my marriage failed under their own weight. Many have survived and changed into deep friendships that are more in line with God's plans for me.

This bio is a work in progress. I update it occasionally.

Rating position